What Not to Say to Hurting People

Matthew Winters (Comeback Pastor)

Two and a half years ago, I went through the darkest time of my life. My faithful blog readers know I went through a divorce and resigned the pastorate during that time. I was blown away by what people said to me. I want to suggest to you not to say these things.

  1. I understand what you’re going through.” Don’t you dare say that if you haven’t lost your family and ministry/career at the same time. Don’t say that to someone who lost a child when you haven’t. Please think before you speak.
  2. All things work together for good…” You might think I’m unspiritual for not wanting to hear that, but that is not the time for the super spiritual to show off.
  3. “You must have sin in your life.” I won’t even go there!
  4. Don’t say anything to try to fix me! Only God…

View original post 85 more words

2 thoughts on “What Not to Say to Hurting People

  1. I got..you need to read more,pray,memorize scripture..your not forgiving..just get over it….its not Gods fault so it must be yours

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry for your pain and for the way you were treated. Those who would say such things to you in no way represent God. He cares very much when His daughters are abused. God bless you~ Anna

      Like

What are your thoughts?

