Black and White Bible, Black and Blue Wife

Gena McCown

bwbbbw

So… I just finished this book.  My head is swirling with all sorts of thoughts.  I’m only hoping I will be able to articulate my thoughts in a way that will make sense.

First, I want to address the subject of abuse in general.  This book appears to point the blame to certain belief sets, traditional/cultural backgrounds.   One thing that I have learned over the years about abuse (of any sort) is that more often than not, it is opportunistic.  The idea that to be abused means you will abuse, or that if you are an abuser means that you were abused… was sold to us on a silver platter.  Which makes it all the harder to understand abuse when it seemingly comes from out of the blue.

From my perspective, it appears to me, that it is not religion that creates abuse but abusers who find themselves a place…

View original post 864 more words

What are your thoughts?

